Get book recommendations, tips & advice, and more tailored to your child's age.

Thank You!

The perfect book picks are on their way.

You're all set!

Baby & Toddler

Pre-K

9 Books for Fans of
The Very Hungry Caterpillar

by Keith Rice

very hungry caterpillar

Of all Eric Carle’s beloved creations, none have captured imaginations quite like The Very Hungry Caterpillar – I know my toddler is certainly a fan. With the engaging, tactile use of the caterpillar’s various snacks and Carle’s deceptively simple collage-style art, The Very Hungry Caterpillar has been eating its way into the hearts and imaginations of our littlest readers for over 50 years. While we all love this particular ravenous little bug, there are plenty of books sure to delight fans of The Very Hungry Caterpillar. Here are a few of our favorites.

  • A Little Book About Spring

    by Leo Lionni, illustrated by Leo Lionni and Julie Hamilton

    Also available from:

    With spring just around the corner, this wonderful board book is a perfect read for your little one. The magic of changing seasons makes a perfect palette for Leo Lionni’s colorful collage-style art. The budding trees, newly blooming flowers, and animals of all sorts pop off the page as they make their way out into the springtime sun.

    (Ages 0 - 3)

    Also available from:
  • A Little Book About 123s

    by Leo Lionni, illustrated by Jan Gerardi

    Also available from:

    With this board book, award-winning author and illustrator Leo Lionni brings all of his friends along to introduce numbers and counting to your littlest reader. With the help of illustrator Jan Gerardi, this party themed counting book is a celebration of numbers sure keep your child engaged and on their way to learning their 123s.

    (Ages 0 - 3)

    Also available from:
  • Honey

    by David Ezra Stein

    Also available from:

    This companion to David Ezra Stein’s award-winning Leaves continues his celebration of the changing seasons. This time Bear is slowly waking from his long winter slumber to blooming flowers, the sounds of gentle rain, bright sunshine, and most importantly, the smell of his favorite snack: honey. David Ezra Stein’s expressive simple illustrations are used to captivate little fans of The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

    (Ages 0 - 3)

    Also available from:
  • A Little Book About Colors

    by Leo Lionni, illustrated by Leo Lionni and Jan Gerardi

    Also available from:

    What better way to delve into the world of color than through the bright and cheerful illustrations of Leo Lionni and Jan Gerardi? The eye-catching, collage-style artwork pops off the page as Lionni’s tiny friends romp through a rainbow’s worth of colors.

    (Ages 0 - 3)

    Also available from:
  • A Little Book About ABCs

    by Leo Lionni, illustrated by Leo Lionni and Julie Hamilton

    Also available from:

    Learn the alphabet alongside Leo Lionni’s delightful little friends with this sturdy board book. This simple and colorful collection of letters paired with a corresponding word is an ideal way to begin introducing your little one to the ABCs in an engaging and entertaining fashion.

    (Ages 0 - 3)

    Also available from:
  • A Rainbow of My Own

    by Don Freeman

    Also available from:

    This beloved classic from Don Freeman – best known for creating the curious bear Corduroy – is the sweet and colorful adventure of a little boy trying to find his own rainbow. It’s a charming and whimsical adventure of a boy searching for something fantastic and discovering that it is perhaps closer than he imagined.

    (Ages 2 - 5)

    Also available from:
  • Where is the Very Hungry Caterpillar?

    by Eric Carle

    Also available from:

    Babies and toddlers can find endless joy in this lift-the-flap book. A lack of object permanence really can be a wonderful thing. Here, your little one can go on the hunt for everyone’s favorite caterpillar and perhaps get a cameo or two from some other beloved Carle creations. Carle’s iconic collage-style art also lends itself particularly well to this format.

    (Ages 3 - 5)

    Also available from:
  • Carl and the Meaning of Life

    by Deborah Freedman

    Also available from:

    The soft and colorful watercolor style artwork of Deborah Freedman will surely appeal to fans of Eric Carle, as will this sweet and charming story of an earthworm seeking out his place in the world. Join Carl the earthworm as he visits all of his animal friends and begins to understand just how big of a difference even the smallest creature can make.

    (Ages 3 - 5)

    Also available from:
  • Can You Guess?: Animals with The Very Hungry Caterpillar

    by Eric Carle

    Also available from:

    Join the Very Hungry Caterpillar in a search for all of his animal friends in this delightful board book. Featuring Eric Carle’s colorful artwork, this book offers a fun and engaging way to introduce your child to members of the animal kingdom with the Very Hungry Caterpillar as your guide.

    (Ages 3 - 5)

    Also available from: