Tween

Books Like Percy Jackson:
14 Super Series to Read Next

by Devon A. Corneal

percy jackson
Background image credit: Solid photos/Shutterstock

There’s a lot for young readers to love in Rick Riordan’s novels — wise-cracking kid protagonists with cool powers, modern life layered with ancient myths, seemingly impossible quests, and insurmountable odds — and kids burn through them faster than he can pen new ones. If you know a middle grade reader who has already finished the entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, tackled the Kane Chronicles, and caught up with the latest Magnus Chase book … never fear, we’re here to help! We’ve picked a few series featuring a new cast of characters that are sure to help tide over even the most dedicated of Percy Jackson fans.

Please note: retail buttons will direct you to the first book in a series. Click on the title of the series to see more books.

  • An Epic Series of Failures

    by Chris Rylander

    Also available from:

    For Percy Jackson fans who appreciate a little humor with their action, Greg Belmont is their guy. Self-effacing and generally unlucky, Greg is shocked when his lovably eccentric dad reveals to Greg that he’s a Dwarf — and that magic is coming back. Greg learns about his heritage from other Dwarves that gather in the Underground, but it’s not all one happy family: with the return of magic, the Elves are back too, and so is the age-old war between the two groups.

    Also available from:
  • The Wingfeather Saga Series

    by Andrew Peterson

    Also available from:

    I’m partial to a cast of scrappy, loyal siblings, and The Wingfeather Saga delivers. Janner, Tink, and Leeli Igiby live in a war-torn world, and they’ll have to muster all their courage and combined talents in they’re going to defeat the malicious Fangs of Dang. High fantasy with a little quirk (the author’s cited both The Lord of the Rings and The Princess Bride as inspiration), this four-book saga is sure to entertain.

    Also available from:
  • Dragons in a Bag Series

    by Zetta Elliott, illustrated by Geneva B

    Also available from:

    When Jax discovers that the mean old woman he thought was his grandmother is actually a witch, she recruits him to help deliver baby dragons safely to a magical world. But what happens when he and his friends, Vikram and Kavita, break the only two rules: don't let the dragons out of the bag and don't feed them anything sweet? The excitement continues in the second book in the series, The Dragon Thief.

    Also available from:
  • A Sam London Adventure Series

    by Todd Calgi Gallicano

    Also available from:

    In this globe-spanning series full of mythical creatures, Sam London will do whatever it takes to keep these magical beings out of harm’s way, starting with the gryphon that haunts him in his sleep. How does a middle schooler get recruited for such an important task, and who can he count on for help? Learn all that and more in Book 1, Guardians of the Gryphon's Claw.

    Also available from:
  • Talespinners Series

    by Scott Reintgen

    Also available from:

    At long last, Indira has been accepted to Protagonist Prep, a school in the heart of Fable, where she’ll be trained in story-leading heroics. But as things go sideways for Indira, shunting her onto the path of a trusty but unmemorable side character, Indira discovers that all of Fable is quietly and mysteriously under siege. Will she and her fellow sidekicks manage to save the day?

    Also available from:
  • Thrones and Bones Series

    by Lou Anders

    Also available from:

    Not all would-be heroes want the job. That could certainly be said for Karn, who would play the board game Thrones and Bones all day, every day, if he had his heart’s desire. When Karn and Thianna — half human, half frost giantess — are forced to flee into the wilds of Norrøngard with a dragon, trolls, and an undead warrior on their tails, they learn to rely on their wits (and wittiness) to survive.

    Also available from:
  • Knights of the Borrowed Dark Series

    by Dave Rudden

    Also available from:

    Raised as an orphan, Denizen Hardwick is thrown for a loop when he’s taken from Crosscaper Orphanage in the dark of night, with claims of a long-lost aunt awaiting him. But before Denizen can even meet this so-called relative, he makes some world-upending discoveries, of shadow monsters and a secret order of knights. Can Denizen trust what he’s told — and more importantly, that he’s with the good guys?

    Also available from:
  • The Chronicles of Egg Series

    by Geoff Rodkey

    Also available from:

    Rick Riordan himself is a fan of this swashbuckling series; he calls it “Lemony Snicket meets Pirates of the Caribbean, with a sprinkling of Tom Sawyer for good measure.” On the glamorous Sunrise Island (anything looks glamorous after growing up on Deadweather Island), poor Egg finds himself the bullseye of a death target, surrounded by pirates and other assorted villains. That he has stuff to save himself — and go on to more adventures — comes as no small surprise to Egg himself.

    Also available from:
  • Will Wilder Series

    by Raymond Arroyo

    Also available from:

    Twelve-year-olds get into a lot of trouble, but not many of them manage to unleash an ancient enemy determined to destroy their hometown. Although, when the name of your town is “Perilous Falls,” bad things are bound to happen. Thank goodness Will Wilder has his great-aunt Lucille to help him fix things. She may look sweet, but she’s deadly and happens to be the curator of a museum of supernatural artifacts. Demons and monsters, beware!

    Also available from:
  • Gods of Manhattan Series

    by Scott Mebus

    Also available from:

    New York City is cool, but nothing special, right? That’s what Rory Hennessy thought until he discovers Mannahatta, a parallel city existing with Manhattan that’s filled with magic and mystery and ruled by the Gods of Manhattan, which, oddly enough, include Babe Ruth. When Rory is asked to right a great wrong, things become more dangerous than he ever imagined.

    Also available from:
  • Addison Cooke Series

    by Jonathan W. Stokes

    Also available from:

    I kid you not, my son read this book in two days. It was the first book he deemed worthy of the devotion he showed to Percy Jackson and Rick Riordan’s multiple universes. So thank you, Addison Cooke and your Incan adventures, for reminding me that action, humor, and a sarcastic 12-year-old boy is all a parent needs to remind her son why he loves to read. The second and third books in the series, Addison Cooke and The Tomb of Khan and Addison Cooke and the Ring of Destiny, are full of even more adventure!

    Also available from:
  • Atlantis Saga Series

    by T. A. Barron

    Also available from:

    We’ve covered mythology across the globe and sought out Incan treasures — but let’s not forget about the Lost City of Atlantis. The first book in the Atlantis Saga series opens in Ellegandia, where a young boy named Promi and his friend Atlanta join together to save their home from the ravages of a war between the spirit and human worlds.

    Also available from:
  • Pandava Series

    by Roshani Chokshi

    Aru Shah and the End of Time kicks off this fantasy trilogy that follow the 12-year-old titular character who spends her time at the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to come home from her latest archeological trip and making up stories about a fantasy life.

    When three classmates don't believe her claim that the Lamp of Bharata is cursed, Aru lights it and releases the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose job is to awaken the God of Destruction. She knows how to stop the demon, but how is one girl supposed to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers and journey through the Kingdom of Death? You won't want to miss the epic start to this series, and the following two books.

  • Charlie Hernández Series

    by Ryan Calejo

    Charlie Hernández has always loved the myths and stories his abuela told him, but as a pragmatist, he never read into them as anything but fiction. But when he starts to experience freaky bodily manifestations, and his life suddenly looks like Hispanic folklore, he doesn't know what to believe.

    Charlie soon finds himself entwined in a battle between good and evil, and will have to enlist the help of his lifelong crush if there's any hope of figuring out what's going on with him, where his missing parents are, and — if there's time — how to save the world. The series continues with Charlie Hernández & the Castle of Bones.

Editor’s Note: This article was originally published in 2017 and updated in 2020.