Get book recommendations, tips & advice, and more tailored to your child's age.

Thank You!

The perfect book picks are on their way.

You're all set!

Tween

Adventurous Books for Fans of Pippi Longstocking

by Janssen Bradshaw

books-like-pippi-longstocking

My girls love Pippi Longstocking and all of the hijinks she gets into! They’ve listened to this series at least ten times on audio and never get tired of it, so of course, I’ve been on the hunt for more books like Pippi Longstocking.

If you’re also looking for books filled with adventure, laughter, and friendship, these are some titles worth checking out for your young Pippi lovers.

  • Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer

    by Gillian Goerz

    Also available from:

    Gillian Goerz starts the Shirley and Jamila series with a beautiful middle grade graphic novel about unlikely friendships. Shirley and Jamila become fast friends despite their differences and work together to solve their neighborhood’s biggest mystery yet — a missing pet!

    Also available from:
  • Journey to the Moon #1

    by Cathy Hapka and Ellen Vandenberg, illustrated by Gillian Reid

    Also available from:

    Astronaut Girl is obsessed with all things science, especially space. With her crew — her little brother and cat — she blasts off on outer space missions. Astronaut Girl’s neighbor, Wallace, doesn’t love talking about space facts, which drives her crazy. But when they get into a sticky situation, they all need to work together to find their way home again. Check out this excellent early reader book that will keep your little one’s attention with friendship and a little bit of mystery.

    Also available from:
  • Hilo Book 7: Gina—The Girl Who Broke the World

    by Judd Winick

    Also available from:

    A book that the whole family can enjoy, the seventh book in the Hilo series is a riot! Earth has been without magic for hundreds of years, but suddenly, it’s back with magical creatures that are only visible to Gina. The other twist — Gina can do magic herself! Can Gina, her new powers, and her team protect the magical creatures without destroying the world?

    Also available from:
  • The Penderwicks

    by Jeanne Birdsall

    Also available from:

    The Penderwicks hits the book scene again with a bright and beautiful new cover! It's a story about four girls spending the summer on the Arundel estates. They quickly discover adventure-filled gardens and plenty of ways to get into trouble. This charming National Book Award Winner is sure to win over your family — my own four girls LOVE these stories starring the four sisters.

    Also available from:
  • The Mighty Miss Malone

    by Christopher Paul Curtis

    Also available from:

    Intelligent and tenacious, Deza is well-loved at school and is on the path to greatness. During the Great Depression, her hometown gets hit hard, forcing her father to leave and search for work. This story follows Deza and her family as they try to find her father while navigating the challenges and hardships of the Great Depression. Can Deza persevere through it all?

    Also available from:
  • The Runaway Princess

    by Johan Troïanowski

    Also available from:

    It’s hard to believe that a princess would be bored of her life, but Robin has the itch for adventure! In this fun graphic novel, Robin disregards her parents' displeasure and sets off on a crazy escapade. Will she be able to fill her adventurous cup before her parents drag her back home to the castle?

    Also available from:
  • Katie the Catsitter

    by Colleen AF Venable, illustrated by Stephanie Yue

    Also available from:

    The summer ahead looks grim for Katie when all of her friends head to a camp her family can’t afford. But things get more interesting when she gets asked to cat-sit 217 cats! Even stranger, the cats' owner mysteriously disappears whenever serious crimes are committed in the city — putting her at the top of the suspect list. This book is full of silliness, friendship, mystery, and felines!

    Also available from:
  • The World Ends in April

    by Stacy McAnulty

    Also available from:

    The end of the world is coming, and Eleanor Dross knows it. Her family is prepared for such a big event to happen, but her middle school classmates are not, so she starts the End of the World Club at school! As she prepares everyone for a life-destroying asteroid to hit Earth, her life changes in unexpected ways.

    Also available from: