Pre-K

Growing Reader

Tween

8 Books for Fans of
Winnie-the-Pooh

by Keith Rice

For generations of readers, the adventures of Winnie-the Pooh and his menagerie of friends have provided countless hours of joy and humor. Stepping into the Hundred Acre Wood alongside Christopher Robin is a sure path to charming adventure for children of all ages. A.A. Milne’s classic tales are full of wit, humor, and the sort of life lessons that stand the test of time. Although there are plenty of adventures to be had with Pooh and the other denizens of the Hundred Acre Wood, there are other worlds just waiting for your child to discover. Whether you’re looking for a read-along for your toddler or a more challenging book for your older Pooh fan, these are a few of our favorites.

  • The Complete Adventures of Peter Rabbit

    by Beatrix Potter

    Also available from:

    This beautiful reissue features Beatrix Potter’s four original Peter Rabbit stories – The Tale of Peter Rabbit, The Tale of Benjamin Bunny, The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, and The Tale of Mr. Tod. The escapades of Peter Rabbit and his furry friends have delighted children for generations and this edition is the perfect way to introduce the beloved rabbit to your little one.
    (Ages 3-7)

    Also available from:
  • Corduroy

    by Don Freeman

    Also available from:

    A little brown bear in overalls was introduced to the world in 1968. His name was Corduroy and his adventures with a little girl named Lisa became instant classics. Lovable and inquisitive, Corduroy’s escapades, much like those of Winnie-the-Pooh, have stood the test of time. The stories of this cuddly, curious little bear are a perfect addition to the library of any Pooh fan.
    (Ages 2-5)

    Also available from:
  • The BFG

    by Roald Dahl, illustrated by Quentin Blake

    Also available from:

    When young Sophie is snatched from her orphanage by a giant, she expects the worst. What she discovers is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure with the BFG (Big Friendly Giant). This tale of fantastical friendship is told with Roald Dahl’s usual idiosyncratic flair and features the iconic art of Dahl’s frequent collaborator, Quintin Blake.
    (Ages 8-12)

    Also available from:
  • The Whispers

    by Greg Howard

    Also available from:

    This coming-of-age tale centers around Riley, an 11-year-old on the hunt for magical, wish-granting forest creatures. Riley wishes for things that any child his age would understand – a respite from bullying and to be noticed by his crush. However, it’s Riley’s wish to be reunited with his lost mother that fills the story’s melancholy, thoughtful center.
    (Ages 10+)

    Also available from:
  • The Big Book of Berenstain Bears Stories

    by Stan Berenstain and Jan Berenstain

    Also available from:

    Featuring seven classic tales of this beloved family, The Big Book of Berenstain Bears Stories is a great way to introduce your little reader to these iconic characters. With their well-hewn morals and humorous hijinks, The Berenstain Bears books, like many classic children’s stories, have stood the test of time.
    (Ages 3-7)

    Also available from:
  • Sisterland

    by Salla Simukka

    Also available from:

    When Alice followed a dragonfly on a cold winter’s day, falling through a tunnel to another world was the last thing she expected to happen. In the fantastical realm of Sisterland, Alice discovers not only a new friend named Marissa, but a world of adventure and the chance to become a hero in more ways than one.
    (Ages 8-12)

    Also available from:
  • My Father’s Dragon

    by Ruth Stiles Gannett

    Also available from:

    This Newberry Honor-winning classic follows young Elmer Elevator and his quest to find a baby dragon in a mysterious place called Wild Island. With his trusty knapsack packed, Elmer sets off on a grand adventure. Originally published in 1948, My Father’s Dragon has been a favorite for generations of young readers and is sure to delight your little one as well.
    (Ages 8-12)

    Also available from:
  • The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail

    by Richard Peck

    Also available from:

    This delightful adventure centers on a mystery-solving mouse on the hunt to discover just who he is and where he came from. As he makes his way around Buckingham Palace – even seeking out an audience with Queen Victoria – this little detective will discover not only who he is, but a world of grand adventure and amusing shenanigans. Your child is sure to be caught up in this plucky little mouse’s whimsical, royal quest.
    (Ages 8-12)

    Also available from: