Tween

Teen

9 Books for Fans of
The Lord of the Rings Series

by Keith Rice

Photo credit: 'The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring,' New Line Cinema

J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings series is an indisputable watershed in fantasy literature. In many ways, it’s the wellspring for much of what we consider modern fantasy. The epic scale tempered by intimate character moments, the sweeping lore, and the beloved characters set a standard that has endured for decades — enthralling generation after generation of readers. If you have a reader who has already traveled from the Shire to Mordor and back again with the Fellowship, there are a host of other epic fantasy adventures just waiting to be read.

Featuring mysterious objects, fantastical creatures, and elaborate universes, these nine books will teleport readers to lands far, far away.

  • Blood Heir

    by Amélie Wen Zhao

    Also available from:

    Anastacya Mikhailov, the crown princess of the Cyrilian Empire, carries with her a dark secret and a potentially deadly power that has kept her in isolation behind the palace walls. When her father, the emperor, is killed and Ana is framed, she must flee the safety of the palace to clear her name. But, the corruption and conspiracy waiting outside the safety of the palace walls could be more dangerous than anything she imagined.

    Also available from:
  • Voyage of the Frostheart

    by Jamie Littler

    Also available from:

    This whimsical, epic adventure follows Ash, a young outcast in search of his missing parents. As he tries to find both his lost parents and his place in the world, Ash joins the crew of the Frostheart — a massive sleigh built to explore the tundra-like Snow Sea. Joined by his yeti guardian, Tobu, Ash sets off on a rousing and dangerous adventure buoyed by great world-building and just the right amount of humor.

    Also available from:
  • The Afterward

    by E.K. Johnston

    Also available from:

    Apprentice Knight Kalanthe and thief Olsa were both members of a heroic quest that brought home the mysterious godsgem and cured Cadrium’s king. Neither expected fame and notoriety, but with songs and stories written in their honor, they are celebrated throughout the kingdom. Now, however, the girls find themselves struggling with their newfound fame as a new threat looms on the horizon and it becomes clear that the godsgem is not finished with them yet.

    Also available from:
  • His Dark Materials

    by Philip K. Pullman

    Also available from:

    Philip Pullman’s modern classic is a must-read for any budding fantasy fan. In the 25 years since its release, His Dark Materials trilogy has proven to be one of the most influential works in modern fantasy while also being a challenging and thought-provoking read. The story centers around Lyra, an extraordinary young girl thrust into the center of a vast conspiracy and a long-simmering conflict with the fate of not just her world, but possibly many others hanging in the balance.

    Also available from:
  • The Book of Dust: La Belle Sauvage

    by Philip Pullman

    Also available from:

    In 2017, Philip Pullman returned to the worlds he created in His Dark Materials – something fans had long been clamoring for. With The Book of Dust series, Pullman further illuminates the multiversal mysteries of his first trilogy while taking readers further into Lyra’s past. La Belle Sauvage centers around an innkeeper named Malcolm who is pulled into a sinister conspiracy and tasked with protecting a baby girl named Lyra with an extraordinary destiny.

    Also available from:
  • The Fork, The Witch, and The Worm

    by Christopher Paolini

    Also available from:

    Christopher Paolini leads readers back to the world of his bestselling Inheritance Cycle series with this collection of stories, set a year after Eragon set out in search of a location to train a new generation of Dragon Riders. Unfortunately, the task has proven far more difficult than he expected. Amidst the seemingly never-ending struggle to see his daring plan to fruition, a series of unexpected distractions may prove just the change in perspective he needs.

    Also available from:
  • The Ruins of Gorlan

    by John Flanagan

    Also available from:

    The first volume in the Ranger’s Apprentice series centers on 15-year-old Will, an orphan raised as a ward of Castle Redmont who dreams of becoming a knight. When Will is passed over as a knight’s apprentice and is instead chosen to apprentice with the mysterious Ranger Corps, he fears the worst. However, with a long simmering threat on the horizon, Will discovers the true heroic purpose of the Rangers and realizes his destiny in the process. With 11 books in the main series and three companion series (The Brotherband Chronicles, Rangers Apprentice: The Early Years, and The Royal Ranger), there’s plenty for fans to sink their teeth into.

    Also available from:
  • Folktales for Fearless Girls

    by Myriam Sayalero, illustrated by Dani Torrent

    Also available from:

    This collection of classic folktales from around the world focuses on heroines saving the day against seemingly insurmountable odds. From deadly curses to impossible riddles and mad Kings, these are empowering tales of women and girls taking their fate into their own hands and controlling their own stories.

    Also available from:
  • Between Worlds: Folktales of Britain and Ireland

    illustrated by Frances Castle, edited by Kevin Crossley-Holland

    Also available from:

    If you have a middle grade or teen reader who is particularly swept up in the expansive lore of Lord of the Rings, Between Worlds is a great resource. Drawing from the much of the same pool of lore and legend that inspired J.R.R. Tolkien, Between Worlds is a fascinating collection of dark and often strange tales that define the folk traditions of Britain and Ireland.

    Also available from: